Sabtang: In A Mood


Day4 – Sabtang Lighthouse
Sabtang, Batanes

♥-shaped sinkhole

We left Chavayan going west, passing back through Savidug and Centro to the other side of the island.

The last structure we saw along the way was Sabtang’s lighthouse situated on a hill-cliff about a 1000 meters to the right of San Vicente port.

Our lunch was waiting somewhere but with our empty stomach, that should be taken cared off first rather than some photo-ops. And besides, the real clincher of the day, I’m running out of power… at this point I only have 1 bar left on my EN-EL3e – my camera’s battery.

We took our lunch at Nakabuang beach, on the western shore of Sabtang, where a natural stone arch formation can be seen. 3 groups were to dine that day and the biggest group, most probably the biggest tour payer, gets the privilege to eat under the arch.

Meanwhile, we just settled our table nearby still on a shaded part to hide our sensitive skins from the high-noon sun.

It was a lonely stony beach by the way. And as I said before nobody went swimming. But that’s just generally speaking, there’s 1 or 2 as I remember who took a dip (Just a dip). And I was contented in dipping up to the knees only to feel the water.

Cliff Hanger

After lunch the place became a ghost town… everyone’s in a shade, there’s one solitarily reading a book as if this lonely beach animates it. And I was trying to move on because the last bar I so much cherished

… has died on me!!!

But fret not cause I have an extra – a second, fresh and fully-charged EN-EL3e… mmm where is it again? Ok fret now cause, very sadly, I left it at our Seaside hotel in Basco.

WAAAAAAAAAAAAAAH!!!

Well calm down! I may not have my 2nd batt with me, but I still have my 2nd body – my N75!

I’m on film now and back again in the mood for shooting! Pow!

Or, should I say… Click (with a wink)!

Under-construction

We did checked out again the lighthouse on our way back.

But it’s closed! Gated by a tennis net on it’s entrance.

Mang Emil is very reluctant we could get inside the compound. Or more likely just timid on the idea of the tour taking extra time.

Luckily, Danny, from the larger group, decided to join us on our tour jeep. He’s the one who asked some guards nearby (guarding a powerhouse besides the lighthouse compound) for permission to enter the compound. And easily enough, we were just instructed to lift the net like a veil in order to pass. Nice!

Last shot!

We then proceeded to San Vicente port to await a falowa ride back to Batan.

The photo above was taken at the port: See Batan on the far right, mildly opposing a picturesque lighthouse on a cliff.

That’s the last picture I took in Sabtang, and coincidentally my 36th shot on film. And on the oddity of N75, never rewound back!

For starters, the camera has a reverse mechanism on loading and rewinds – it unwinds on loading and feeds everyshot back to the cassette. At the end of a roll it just eats the last frame and everything is inside.

The common theory is that every shot you take is safe from an accidental exposure.

Kinda confusing, huh?

Anyway, watch out for Itbayat, next!

Leave a Reply

